And Now, Breaking News

IMG_0003

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything here and there’s a reason for that: I thought I had abandoned the journey east. There were several reasons for doing so but mostly because I thought that my age and physical condition (which is good except for my feet) were making things impossible. I thought that, since I couldn’t attend the Divine Liturgy and stand through the whole thing, and since I was unlikely to be able to observe the fasting rules in the strictist manner, I shouldn’t try to become Orthodox, it would be hypocritical. And so, I thought it necessary to turn aside and continue with the Catholic Church.

However.

While there has been a lot going on in my life, there’s been even more going on in the life of the Catholic Church, much more. As you’re probably aware, the Extraordinary Synod of Bishops convened early in October and met for two weeks under varying degrees of secrecy and intrigue. That was unfortunate, but stuff happens. When the dust settled and all the bishops went home, we’d seen doctored documents released, Cardinals making racist remarks, some walking back of committe appointments, banging on tables, and, oh yes, the Russian Orthodox bishop at the meeting dumping all over the Ukrainian bishop, also present at the meetings. It was certainly lively but, in the end, changed nothing.

However.

There’s also been much speculation that, even though Church teachings haven’t been officially changed, many are trying to say they should be changed through an update in “pastoral practice” which means they’ve been changed in practice. Many priests are reporting that people in “irregular” living arrangements are coming to them demanding to be admitted to Communion because the Pope said it was OK, or something along those lines. It seems the main fruit of the Synod has been confusion, and little else.

However.

None of that is directly responsible for my renewed quest to learn more about Orthodoxy. I know there is no perfect Church, not on this side of the roots at least. By becoming Orthodox I’m not going to pretend I will find heaven on earth, not in the most practical sense anyway. Notice, I said “directly.”

What the Synod did highlight for me is the nature of the Church and the problems that can arise in a Church structured as the Catholic Church is, i.e., as a hierarchy with one person vested with supreme authority. That situation is a disaster waiting to happen. That became abundantly clear in the Synod this month. The teachings of the Church didn’t change, but the widespread fear was, it could change if the Pope decided it would. Vatican Council I declared the Pope infallible when teaching on matters of faith and morals and by doing so, made it theoretically impossible for the convened bishops to override him if things got out of hand. Not good, and quite clearly, not what the Fathers ever intended.

By the time all was said and done, my whole attitude towards the Church changed and I realized that the only place for me might well be the Orthodox Church; at least they have a solid idea of what the Church should be. I made contact with my local parish late last week and have attended Great Vespers on Saturday and the Divine Liturgy on Sunday and felt, once again, at home. And yes, I had to sit during much of both liturgies. For you purists out there, I’m sorry, I mean no disrespect, I’m a wimp. But I hope, someday, to be an Orthodox wimp, I hate feeling like the rug could be pulled out from under me at the whim of just one man, no matter how infallible he is.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “And Now, Breaking News

  1. There’s no judgment for sitting through liturgy. It’s not about being super tough or righteous. It’s just how we do it, IF WE CAN. And we only look at ourselves. I have no right to throw stones at you when I’m such a great sinner. Same with fasting. It’s how we do it, but there’s nothing of obligations or sinning or being hypocritical if we can’t. If you talk it over with your priest and explain the reasons why you are having trouble standing or fasting and he’s cool, then that’s that. He’ll help keep you honest and understand why you do what you do, but don’t fear that you aren’t meeting some sort of standard. None of us do. Welcome back to the path to the Orthodox Church.

    1. Mark

      Thank you for your comment, it helps. I tend to what Catholics call scrupulosity and, being a retired CPA I can also be a bit OCD but my I spoke to my priest and he more or less says the same thing as you. I think I believed he was just saying that, but recently got to thinking about it and decided to take him at his word. A Catholic priest would never say anything like that. But, as I say, it finally crossed my mind that if Father was good with it, I should be too. That made it possible to come back. I’m glad to hear someone else whose Orthodox say the same thing, it helps. Thank you.

      1. It took me (a Protestant convert) a bit to get how the Orthodox Church sees the practice of our religion in things like fasting. It helped me to have it explained that not fasting is not a sin, in the legal sense of things. Fasting is a practice that is spiritually helpful, much like exercise is helpful. Missing a fast is like missing a work out, in that sense. You don’t incur an debt to God. Instead you miss out on becoming more like Christ. Perhaps that’s a sin in the sense of “missing the mark.” I might fail, today, to become more like Christ. My passions may be strengthened, but I’ll have more opportunities tomorrow. :o) When I stopped thinking of fasting as something I check off my list in order to meet an obligation or please God, and instead saw it as part of the process of healing my spiritual sickness, becoming like Christ so that I am ready to participate in the divine nature by Grace, I became both more relaxed about the matter, and more interested in participating in whatever way I can.

  2. Yes, I’ve seen that, but haven’t been able to really grasp it. It would be far better not to be so preoccupied about legalistic things, that’s one reason I started having problems with the Catholic Church. It’s not a matter of accomplishing something to prove I can do it, it’s something to help me grow closer to God. I can’t prove anything to God.

    I do apprecciate you comments, they’ve been helpful.

Leave a Reply

