Still Learning

imageI haven’t posted in a little while and I guess the reason is that I’m going through the Orthodox learning curve. For a few years I kept a Catholic blog and had the routine pretty well in hand; keeping up the thing had gotten pretty easy. Right after I decided to try an Orthodox blog and set up An Easterly Direction

Even so, I know I’m not yet Orthodox, I have a lot to learn and to experience before I can make that claim. I expect, at times, to write things that either sound dumb or are just plain mistaken according to Orthodox teachings. But, I’m learning and it helps me to learn to try to think things through on “paper”, so to speak and I hope you’ll bear with me. The freeing thing, for me, though is that I can continue to write here not only about my journey to Orthodoxy but also about other things I’m interested in and enjoy writing about; there’s really no reason I can’t do that here. Being Orthodox doesn’t mean being cut off from the rest of the world.

In fact, one of the first contrasts I noticed about Orthodoxy, as compared with Catholicism, is that, unlike Catholicism, it seems much more open to ideas. When I first went to the Orthodox book store/coffee shop here, I immediately noticed books by both C.S. Lewis and G.K. Chesterton. I was a bit shocked because, if you were to go into a Catholic bookstore you would not see books by more modern Orthodox writers like, perhaps Schmemann or Frank Schaefer, or even Frederica Matthewes-Green; in a certain sense, Catholicism is a bit of a closed system. I think that’s a shame; I loved C. S. Lewis as a Protestant and had read nothing of his in the 20 or so years since I became Catholic. I think that’s kind of sad thought truth can’t be sought where ever it can be found. It’s one of the things I really, really like about Orthodoxy.

Anyway, the point is, I’ll try to be a little more regular in posting here and I ask your patience while I figure out the way ahead for the blog.

Leave a Reply

